Metro routes in India

Metro routes in India.Rapid transit

There are currently 13 operational rapid transit (also called 'metro') systems in 18 cities in India.[1] As of March 2019, India has 638.91 kilometres (397.00 miles) of operational metro lines and 496 stations.

Rapid transit Metro Service in India.

The first rapid transit system in India is the Kolkata Metro, which started operations in 1984. The Delhi Metro has the largest network in the entire country. The newest metro opened is Nagpur Metro on 8 March 2019.

Delhi Metro (DMRC)

Metro NameDelhi Metro
Number of lines9  
Owned ByDMRC (Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited)
Start Operating24 December 2002
No. of Stations250  
System length343.36 km (213.35 mi)
Contact No155370
Headquater AddressMetro Bhawan, Fire Brigade Lane, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi – 110001, India

Kolkata Metro (KMRC)

Metro NameKolkata Metro
Number of lines6   ( 1 Operational, 4 Under construction, 1 Proposed )
Owned ByKMRC (Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation)
Start Operating24 October 1984
No. of Stations94   ( 24 Operational, 44 Under construction, 26 Proposed )
System length27.22 km
Contact No+913322267287
Headquater AddressKolkata Metro Rail Corporation, HRBC Complex, KMRCL Bhawan, 2nd & 3rd Floor, Munsi Premchand Sarani, Kolkata - 700021

Chennai Metro (CMRL)

Metro NameChennai Metro
Number of lines5   ( 2 Operational, 3 Proposed )
Owned ByCMRL (Chennai Metro Rail Limited)
Start Operating29 June 2015
No. of Stations32  
System length45.1 km (28.0 mi)
Contact No18604251515
Headquater AddressAdmin Building, CMRL Depot, Poonamallee High Road, Koyambedu, Chennai – 600107, Tamil Nadu, India.

Mumbai Metro (MMRC)

Metro NameMumbai Metro
Number of lines1  
Owned ByMMRC (Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation)
Start Operating8 June 2014
No. of Stations12  
System length11.4 km (7.1 mi)
Contact No+912226384677
Headquater AddressTransit Office E-Block, North side of City Park, Behind Income Tax Office 'A' Wing Bandra (E) BKC, Mumbai - 400051

Jaipur Metro (JMRC)

Metro NameJaipur Metro
Number of lines2   ( 1 Operational, 1 Under construction )
Owned ByJMRC (Jaipur Metro Rail Corporation Ltd)
Start Operating3 June 2015
No. of Stations31   ( 9 Operational, 22 Under construction )
System length35.17 Km
Contact No0141-2822753, 07728895107,
Headquater AddressKhanij Bhavan, C-Scheme, Jaipur

Hyderabad Metro (HMRL)

Metro NameHyderabad Metro
Number of lines2  
Owned ByHMRL (Hyderabad Metro Rail Ltd)
Start Operating29 November 2017
No. of Stations48  
System length72 km (45 mi)
Contact No+914023332555
Headquater AddressMetro Bhawan, Begumpet, Hyderabad

Kochi Metro (KMRL)

Metro NameKochi Metro
Number of lines1  
Owned ByKMRL (Kochi Metro Rail Limited)
Start Operating17 June 2017
No. of Stations16  
System length18.4 km (11.4 mi)
Contact No8004250355
Headquater Address8th Floor, Revenue Tower, Park Avenue, Kochi

Lucknow Metro (LMRC)

Metro NameLucknow Metro
Number of lines2   ( 1 Operational, 1 Approved )
Owned ByLMRC (Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation)
Start Operating5 September 2017
No. of Stations34   ( 22 Operational, 12 Approved )
System length22.87 km (14.21 mi)
Contact No05222288869
Headquater AddressAdministrative Building, Near Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar Samajik Parivartan Sthal, Vipin Khand Gomti Nagar, Lucknow - 226010

Noida Metro (NMRC)

Metro NameNoida Metro
Number of lines2   ( 1 Operational, 1 Planned )
Owned ByNMRC (Noida Metro Rail Corporation)
Start Operating25 January 2019
No. of Stations21  
System length29.7 km (18.5 mi)
Contact No18001800247
Headquater AddressBlock-III, Ganga Shopping Complex, Sector-29, Noida

Gurgaon Metro (RMGL)

Metro NameGurgaon Metro
Number of lines1  
Owned ByRMGL (Rapid Metro Gurgaon Limited)
Start Operating14 November 2013
No. of Stations11  
System length11.7 km (7.3 mi)
Contact No01242800028
Headquater AddressAmbience Corporate Towers, Ambience Island, NH 8, Gurgaon

Namma Metro (BMRCL)

Metro NameNamma Metro
Number of lines2  
Owned ByBMRCL (Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited)
Start Operating20 October 2011
No. of Stations40  
System length42.3 km (26.3 mi)
Contact No+918022969300
Headquater AddressBMTC Complex, K.H. Road, Shanthinagar, Bengaluru

Ahmedabad Metro (GMRCL)

Metro NameAhmedabad Metro
Number of lines5   ( 1 Operational, 2 Proposed for Phase-1, 2 Proposed for Phase-2 )
Owned ByGMRCL (Gujarat Metro Rail Corporation Limited)
Start Operating4 March 2019
No. of Stations60   ( 6 Operational, 31 Phase-1, 22 Phase-2 )
System length40.03 km (24.87 mi) (Phase-1), 28.26 km (17.56 mi) (Phase-2)
Contact No+917923248572
Headquater AddressBlock No.1, First Floor, Karmayogi Bhavan, Behind Nirman Bhavan, Sector 10/A, Gandhinagar: 382010

Nagpur Metro (Maha Metro)

Metro NameNagpur Metro
Number of lines3   ( 1 Operational, 2 Under construction )
Owned ByMaha Metro (Maharashtra Metro Rail Corporation Limited)
Start Operating8 March 2019
No. of Stations47   ( 5 (operational), 42 (under construction) )
System length13.5 km (operational), 43 km (total length planned)
Contact No+917122554217
Headquater AddressMetro House, Bunglow No: 28/2, Anand Nagar,C K Naidu Road, Civil Lines, Nagpur-440001

Prayagraj Metro (UPMRC)

Metro NamePrayagraj Metro
Number of lines2   ( Under construction )
Owned ByUPMRC ()
Start Operating2025
No. of Stations36  
System length44 km route
Contact No
Headquater AddressPrayagraj

Kanpur Metro (UPMRC)

Metro NameKanpur Metro
Number of lines2   ( Orange Line (Partially operational & under construction) Blue Line (Under construction) )
Owned ByUPMRC ()
Start Operating28 December 2021
No. of Stations29   ( Operational )
System length32.4 km
Contact No0512-2246200
Headquater AddressKanpur Metro Depot, Gurudev Chauraha, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, 208024, India